Customer service and contingency plans

Customer service plans

American Airlines and American Eagle are in business to provide safe, dependable and friendly air transportation to our customers, along with numerous related services. We’re dedicated to make every flight you take with us something special. Your safety, comfort and convenience are our most important concerns.

  • In June 2007, American Airlines and other members of the Air Transport Association submitted service plans addressing particular issues of consumer interest to the Department of Transportation (DOT).
  • In September 1999, American Airlines and American Eagle submitted their joint Customer Service Plan to the DOT.

Customer service plan

Tarmac delay contingency plan – U.S. airports

Every American Airlines, Envoy, PSA and Piedmont team has a comprehensive contingency plan to respond to lengthy onboard ground (tarmac) delays at U.S. airports.

Each plan:

  • Ensures we’ll have adequate resources available to meet your needs
  • Names a control person to coordinate local teams and communicate with central operations centers

In order to comply with the relevant laws of the US Department of Transportation and Fight Irregularity Management Regulation of China Ministry of Transportation, American Airlines in China mainland airports has a comprehensive contingency plan to respond to lengthy tarmac delays.

At each U.S. airport we serve, plans are coordinated with:

  • Local airport authorities
  • Transportation Security Administration (TSA)
  • U.S. Customs
  • Border Protection at each U.S. airport regularly used for international flights

We also have plans for all airports we regularly serve (including our designated diversion airports) to make reasonable efforts to share facilities and gates with other carriers in an emergency and during irregular operations such as extreme weather. Gates would be made available in accordance with established operational priorities (i.e. medical emergencies, maintenance concerns) and local gate compatibility constraints. If a gate is not available and deplaning is necessary, other equipment such as air stairs will be made available to deplane passengers.

Unless otherwise noted, marketed international and / or codeshare flights (AA flight number operated by another carrier) follow their own tarmac delay contingency plan. This contingency plan is explicitly separate from and not a part of these carriers' contract of carriage.

Limits of lengthy tarmac delays

Lengthy tarmac delays can take place both during taxi-out (prior to departure) and taxi-in (after landing). Based on Fight Irregularity Management Regulation of China Ministry of Transportation, if a tarmac flight delay in China mainland airports is exceeding 3 hours (including 3 hours) and there is no define takeoff time, carrier shall arrange for disembarkation as long as safety and security regulations are followed.

Delays longer than these time limits may be necessary if:

  • The pilot-in-command determines that permitting a passenger to deplane would jeopardize passenger safety or security.
  • Air traffic control advises the pilot-in-command that returning to the gate or another disembarkation point elsewhere in order to deplane passengers would significantly disrupt airport operations.

Passenger services during a lengthy tarmac delay

For all flights experiencing a lengthy ground delay at a U.S. airport, American Airlines, Envoy, PSA and Piedmont will:

  • Provide passengers with adequate food and potable water no later than two hours after the aircraft leaves the gate (in the case of departure) or touches down (in the case of arrival) if the aircraft remains on the tarmac, unless the pilot-in-command determines that safety or security considerations preclude such service.
  • Ensure that operable lavatory facilities will remain available while the aircraft remains on the tarmac.
  • Ensure adequate medical attention is available, if needed, while the aircraft remains on the tarmac.
  • Ensure a comfortable cabin temperature is maintained.
  • Ensure passengers on the delayed flight will receive notifications regarding the status of the delay every 30 minutes while the aircraft is delayed, including the reasons for the tarmac delay, if known.
  • Notify passengers on a delayed flight beginning 30 minutes after the scheduled departure time (including any revised departure time that passengers were notified about before boarding) and every 30 minutes thereafter that they have the opportunity to deplane from an aircraft that is at the gate or another disembarkation area with the door open, if the opportunity to deplane actually exists.

At American Airlines, Envoy, PSA and Piedmont, the safety and comfort of our customers is always an important priority, especially during flight delays. We are confident our contingency plans will lessen your inconvenience.

客户服务和停机坪延误应急计划

客户服务计划

美国航空集团下属的美国航空和美国鹰航致力于向客户提供安全、可靠、友好、舒适的航空运输服务。我们的目标是让您的每次航空旅程都与众不同。确保乘客旅程的安全、舒适和便捷对于我们来说非常重要。

  • 2007年6月,美国航空公司和美国航空运输协会的其它成员单位向美国交通部(DOT)提交了其服务计划,以解决客户关注的特定问题。
  • 1999年9月,美国航空公司和其下属的支线航空美国鹰航向美国交通部(DOT)提交了其联合客户服务计划。

客户服务计划

停机坪延误应急方案 – 美国机场

美国航空、特使航空、PSA 航空和皮德蒙特航空的所有团队都制订有一个全面周到的应急方案,应对美国机场长时间机上地面(停机坪)延误。

每个方案:

  • 都确保我们有足够的资源来满足您的需要
  • 都指定一名控制人员来协调当地团队并与中央运营中心沟通

为遵守美国交通部的相关法律和中国交通运输部的《航班正常管理规定》(交通运输部令 2016 年第 56 号),美国航空公司在中国大陆的机场都制定了综合应急计划以应对长时间的停机坪延误。

在我们服务的每个美国机场,方案都经过与以下各方的协调:

  • 当地机场管理局
  • 美国运输安全管理局 (TSA)
  • 美国海关
  • 经常起降国际航班的每个美国机场的边境保护

我们还为经常服务的所有机场(包括我们指定的备降机场)制定计划,作出合理努力,以便在紧急情况和极端天气等不正常作业的情况下,与其他航空公司共享设施和登机口。会根据既定的业务优先事项(即医疗紧急情况、维护问题)和本地登机口兼容性限制提供登机口。如果无法提供登机口,而且有必要离机,会提供登机梯等其他设备,让乘客离机。

除非另行注明,否则销售的国际和/或代码共享航班(由另一航空公司经营的 AA 航班号)遵循自己的停机坪延误应急方案。此应急方案是明确独立的,不是这些航空公司运输合同的一部分。

长时间停机坪延误的限制

长时间停机坪延误会发生在出港滑行(出发前)和进港滑行(着陆后)期间。根据中国交通运输部的《航班正常管理规定》(交通运输部令2016年第56号),中国大陆机场的长时间地面延误适用以下限制:机上延误超过3个小时(含)且无明确起飞时间的,在不违反航空安全、安全保卫规定的情况下,我们将安排旅客下飞机等待。

在下述情况,可以超出上述时间限制:

  • 机长认为允许乘客下机会危及乘客的安全。
  • 空管人员告知机长,返回登机口或其它下机点让乘客下飞机会严重影响机场的运营。

长时间停机坪延误期间所提供的乘客服务

对于在机场遭遇长时间地面延误的所有航班来说,美国航空公司都将提供以下服务:

  • 如果飞机停留在停机坪上,则在飞机离开登机口(离港)或着陆(到港)之后不超过两小时之内,向乘客提供充足的食物和饮用水,除非机长认为这样做会危及安全。
  • 确保卫生间设施都能够正常运行。
  • 确保在飞机停留在停机坪上期间,在必要时能够提供充足的医疗资源。
  • 确保客舱内保持舒适的温度。
  • 确保遭遇延误航班的乘客在延误期间能够每隔30分钟了解延误状况,包括飞机坪延误的原因。
  • 如果允许乘客离开飞机的话,则从预定离港时间(包括乘客在登机之前被告知的调整后的离港时间)之后30分钟开始,每隔30分钟告知航班延误的乘客,其能够离开飞机,前提是该飞机位于登机口或其它下机区域,并且客舱门打开。

对于美国航空来说,客户的安全和舒适始终都是第一考虑因素,特别是在航班延误期间。我们相信,我们的应急计划将减少给您带来的不便。